Into the wilderness with “Where The Crawdad Sings” (Book Review)

Marsh in Sabah Wetland gives me some Kya’s vibes. Photo courtesy of Tripadvisor

I remember my first time encountering this story. My first impression was that it’ll for sure be talking all about a craw. The title doesn’t impress me, and the book cover doesn’t really match the type of book I will read, but Taylor Swift read, so I too NEED to read. That’s how a die-hard fan I am, doing something out of the norm as this is one of the few books I have read.

In my first few reading chapters, it was okay, slow story build-up, like how a good story is. I love how vivid the writing is. As if I can imagine how it’ll happen in real life. Like how Kya will look in the real life, how caring Tate will be, how kind Jumpin’ and Mabel are, how cruel is Chase and how peaceful the marsh is. Midway through reading, I got so absorbed with the love affair and the murder story that I forced myself to stay awake eventhough I was so sleepy just so that I could keep reading. Like a definite page-turner, it has everything a good story does, love, mystery, nature, and great plot twist.

The unimaginable plot twist in the ending deserves a 5-star rating from me. Would you believe me if I said my mouth was wide open because I was so surprised with the ending? Not to exaggerate or make things up but I swore out loud on the ending part cuz the story ended so well in a way that it made me feel as if my best friend just told me she’s getting married in 2 weeks. That you were so surprised but feel so good about it!

But the question it, will I reread it? Maybe no, it was a thick book worth 300+ pages, I don’t think I will invest my time in a story that is already embedded well in my mind but I sure will open it once in a while just to reread the ending and read back the annotations I made. Because the way the author describes things was done brilliantly, and it was one of the many reasons why I love this book. While being entertained, I also learned. The author’s poetic sense of writing, the appreciation of nature, and the metaphor for describing things. Perfect chef kiss!

I read this based on my curiosity as a fan, but if you need a reason to read, read it if you feel like forgetting life for a while. This book would make you wander into the wilderness you design on your own.

With this being said, I also want to happily announce that this is one of three books I have read this year for my 2022 book challenge. Seven to go! Woot Woot!

Leave a comment